Hervé Gros, General Manager of the Société des Ingénieurs de l'Automobile (SIA)

"Today’s automobile revolution is double the size of anything we’ve seen in its 120 years of existence"

Could you explain to us, in a few words, what MonJob @ FuturAuto is?

At EQUIP AUTO we will host the first annual symposium on Thursday, October 19th, which will be the place for the automotive industry (builders, equipment manufacturers, startups, etc.) to meet with students from major engineering schools and universities. We will welcome 700 to 800 students who will have the opportunity to discover and network with the leaders, managers, entrepreneurs and engineers who build the automotive world every day and who are driving this revolution. All of these students will take part in discussions with R & D and engineering directors from major manufacturers, equipment manufacturers and startups. There will also be presentations of innovative projects, feedback from young engineers who have already entered the automotive industry, and more...

Where did this idea come from?

The SIA was created in 1927 as an ideas lab. We brought together French experts and engineers from different fields of expertise, but all with a focus on the future of the automobile. With this in mind, we questioned the attractiveness of the sector. For ten years, this industry has been out of reach for students. Now we have a golden opportunity. Why? Firstly, it’s thanks to manufacturers like Renault who have made the electric vehicle an inescapable reality. And thanks to the potential opportunities that autonomous vehicles offer. Finally, the revolution that the industry is undergoing today means it can finally meet the expectations of this new "Cop 21" generation, who are anxious to protect the planet and eager to embrace new technologies. With the FIEV, we asked ourselves how we could tell these students: "Look, the automotive industry can live up to your aspirations. It’s also an industry for the future, with a startup mentality and state of the art technologies that align with how the rest of the world is evolving". This is how the MonJob @ FuturAuto Symposium was born.

What exactly do you expect from this taster event at EQUIP AUTO?

Above all, what we want is that at the end of the day, students in engineering schools and universities choose the automotive industry. If today’s dynamic continues, we will need everyone we can get. More concretely, for the next 3-4 years and in the coming decade, the automotive revolution is twice as big as anything ever seen before, in its 120 years of existence. Now the automotive industry is offering opportunities for new professions that accompany this revolution: from artificial intelligence to hybridization, from system engineering to numerical simulation, from software development to cyber security, and from calculation to the physics of materials... Hence the importance of recruiting because there are and will be exceptional adventures to experience in this industry in the near future.

In partnership with:

Hervé Gros, directeur général de la Société des Ingénieurs de l’Automobile (SIA)

« L’automobile fait aujourd’hui une révolution deux fois plus importante qu’en 120 ans d’existence.»

Pouvez-vous nous expliquer, en quelques mots, en quoi consiste l’opération [email protected] ?

Lors du salon EQUIP AUTO nous organisons, le jeudi 19 octobre, la première édition d’un symposium annuel qui sera le rendez-vous de la filière automobile (constructeurs, équipementiers, startups, etc.) avec des élèves des grandes écoles d’ingénieurs et des universités. Nous recevrons à cette occasion 700 à 800 étudiants qui auront ainsi la possibilité de découvrir, d’échanger, de partager avec les dirigeants, managers, entrepreneurs, ingénieurs qui font tous les jours le monde de l’automobile et qui accompagnent sa révolution. Tous ces élèves assisteront à des prises de paroles de directeurs R&D et d’ingénierie chez les grands constructeurs, les équipementiers, les startups, à des présentations de projets innovants, à des retours d’expériences de jeunes ingénieurs qui se sont d’ores et déjà lancés dans la filière automobile…

D’où cette idée vous est-elle venue ?

La SIA est une société qui a été créée en 1927 dans l’objectif d’être un laboratoire d’idées. Nous avons réuni des experts et des ingénieurs français issus de différents domaines d’expertise, autour du futur de l’automobile. Fort de cela, nous nous sommes interrogés sur l’attractivité de la filière. Depuis dix ans, en effet, l’automobile est sortie de la shopping list des étudiants. Or, nous avons aujourd’hui une fenêtre de tir en or. D’abord grâce à des constructeurs comme Renault qui ont fait du véhicule électrique une réalité inéluctable. Ensuite grâce aux perspectives qu’offre le véhicule autonome. Finalement, la révolution que poursuit aujourd’hui la filière est en mesure de correspondre aux attentes de cette nouvelle génération « Cop 21 », soucieuse de protéger la planète et avide de nouvelles technologies. Avec la FIEV, nous nous sommes donc demandés de quelle manière nous pouvions dire à ces étudiants : « Regardez, l’automobile peut correspondre à vos aspirations. Elle est, elle aussi, une filière du futur, structurée, avec des mentalités de startups et des technologies d’avenir en lien avec l’évolution du monde ». C’est ainsi qu’est né le symposium [email protected]

Qu’attendez-vous concrètement de cette opération séduction organisée sur EQUIP AUTO ?

Ce que nous voulons surtout c’est qu’au terme de cette journée, les étudiants en écoles d’ingénieur et en universités, choisissent la filière automobile. Nous sommes aujourd’hui dans une telle dynamique que nous aurons besoin de tout le monde. Concrètement, depuis 3-4 ans et dans les 10 ans à venir, l’automobile fait une révolution deux fois plus importante qu’en 120 ans d’existence. Mais c’est dès à présent que la filière automobile offre des perspectives de métiers nouveaux qui accompagnent cette révolution: de l’intelligence artificielle à l’hybridation, de l’ingénierie système à la simulation numérique, du développement de logiciels à la cyber sécurité, du calcul à la physique des matériaux... D’où l’importance de recruter car il y a et il y aura des aventures exceptionnelles à vivre.

En partenariat avec: